Tri-State Plans for Coal Plant Closures

Retirement dates have been set for three coal-fired power plants in Craig, Colorado, that supply electricity to several of Colorado’s electric cooperatives.

The plants, known as Craig Station Unit 1, Craig Station Unit 2 and Craig Station Unit 3, are owned and operated by Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association, which supplies electricity to 17 of the state’s 22 electric co-ops. Unit 1 will be retired by December 31, 2025; Unit 2 by September 30, 2028; and Unit 3 by December 31, 2029.

The plants’ closures and the addition of new renewable resources are part of Tri-State’s Responsible Energy Plan and its goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions 80% by 2030.